Regulatory strategy workshop

Regulatory strategy workshop

Hotel Sheraton, Dhaka, Bangladesh
September 12-13, 2000


Date / Time


Resource Persons

Day 1:  12 Sept. 2000
9:00 - 9:05 Welcome  
9:05 - 10:30 Session 1: Establishing Regulatory legitimacy

Draws on the presenter's experience of heading a regulatory agency to examine how regulatory legitimacy can be established through communication of professional expertise, openness and attention to the public interest. Effective management of relations with the executive, the legislature and the judiciary, including media strategy and actions in the areas of consumer protection and universal service will be addressed.

Prof. Rohan Samarajiva,
Former Director General,
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission(TRC) of Sri Lanka; Economics of Infrastructure Program at Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands & the National Regulatory Research Institute, Columbus, Ohio, USA
Mr S Sathyam,
Chairman, Tariff Authority for Major Ports, India
10:30 - 11:00 Tea  
11:00 - 12:30 Session 2: Review and appeal of regulators decisions in the South Asian Context

Reviews how regulator’s decision are reviewed by outside bodies drawing on evidence from South Asia

Dr. Kamal Hossain,
Advocate, Bangladesh>

Mr B R Pandey,
Chairman, Nepal Telecommunication Authority

12:30 - 1:30 Lunch  
1:30 - 3:00 Session 3: Managing the Introduction of Competition

Draws on Hongkong’s experience in the transition to competition in Telecommunication sector with a special reference to negotiation with Hongkong Telecom on their termination of exclusive franchisee during 1997-98

Mr. M H Au,
Senior Assistant Director, Office of Telecommunications Authority, Hongkong

Prof Rohan Samarajiva,

3:00 - 3:30 Tea  
3:30 - 5:00 Session 4: Issues on regulation in infrastructure sectors

Looks into the rationale behind independent regulation, outlines parameters for a sound regulation, discusses Indian experience, and chalks out future strategies

Mr. S Sundar,
Distinguished Fellow, Tata Energy Research Institute

Mr D K Roy,
Chairman, Orissa Electricity Regulatory Commission, India.

8:00 - onwards Reception